Connect with NBLSA

divider image

National Moot Court Director
Rashad Pendarvis
University of South Carolina School of Law

Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition

Greetings fellow NBLSA members,

It is with great honor and pleasure I write to you as your 2013-2014 National Director of the Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition (FDMCC).

One of the cornerstones of NBLSA programming is the FDMCC. Since its inception in 1975, the FDMCC has consistently provided NBLSA members with excellent training in appellate advocacy through oral argument and brief writing. The FDMCC seeks to provide NBLSA members the opportunity to hone their appellate advocacy skills in an atmosphere of zealous competition and spirited camaraderie. Each year, between 100 and 125 teams compete across the nation within the six Regional Competitions, culminating in the top three teams from each region competing at the national level during NBLSA's Annual Convention. The competition provides competitors with the opportunity to argue issues that are at the forefront of debate in the legal profession and this year will prove to be no different. This year marks the 39th anniversary of this competition and the theme for this year will be "Furthering the Legacy: Building Influence Through Advocacy to Shape the Changes of Tomorrow."

Competition Improvements

Keeping with NBLSA's commitment of service to its members, the FDMCC Planning Board has implemented exciting new changes to the Competition. In an effort to create a more effective forum for the cultivation of superior written and oral advocacy skills, the following changes have been made to improve logistics for this year's competition.

1. The FDMCC rules will be amended to implement a third place round on the regional level to ensure that the best advocates advance to the National Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition.

2. The administration of the FDMCC Problem will be returned to the Westlaw TWEN site to facilitate easier communication between competitors and the FDMCC Planning Board during the writing stage of the competition.


Meet Your 2013-2014 FDMCC Team

Courtney Littlejohn

National Specialist

Jasmine Liverpool
National Specialist/ NEBLSA Moot Court Director

Caroline Mapp
MABLSA Moot Court Director

Aujsha Weeden
MWBLSA Moot Court Director

Kristy Blurton
RMBLSA Moot Court Co-Director

Taja Jewell
RMBLSA Moot Court Co-Director

Jayniece Higgins
SRBLSA Moot Court Director

Wismick Saint-Jean
WRBLSA Moot Court Director

spacer gif
spacer gif
spacer gif

National Advisor

Charles Tucker Jr., Esq.

National Committee Members

Dee Baker, Esq.
Adrian Bispham , Esq.
Brandon Cox, Esq.
Major Chantell Higgins Bless, Esq.
Siana McLean, Esq.
Kirsten Staples, Esq.

non-proft website design by: Mercy Tree